Keeping Up With The Jonses

02Apr09

As The Tuskers grow and evolve as a corporation our abilities have changed, too. In the early days we only really flew frigates, interceptors, assault frigates, cruisers, and the odd battlecruiser. These days not only have the original members developed their skills into larger ships but we’ve also attracted much more experienced, older hands who can field everything up to capital ships. Lately this has meant that recons and heavy assault ships have become a regular sight in Tusker squads and this week things cranked up another notch.

Toady11 has started to bring his Dominix out to play. This doesn’t mean to say he’s the first Tusker to have a battleship, far from it. But it is the first time that I know of us fielding them. What’s he doing with it? Well he’s trying to step the endless flow of haulers running courier missions that floods our system. To this end he has racked up a fearsome number of kills so far this week.

Toady's Hauler Kills

While Toady has been interfering with the day to day activities of mission runners Castor Rom, another Tusker, was able to down a Megathron using only his Taranis. Between the two of them they have managed to knock my Providence adventure off the top of the killboard for both number of kills and point scored. This just won’t do. Something must be done!

I was going to have to do some pretty serious damage in order to even things up a bit. The evening began well with a Hurricane running a mission in our system. I called upon my friend with the covert ops to see if he could master the changes to the scanning system and pinpoint his position. After a bit of trial and error – luckily the Hurricane was taking his time – we were able to pin down his location and the troops swept in for the kill. Our Taranis, Incursus, and Claw were easily able to destroy the battlecruiser and we ransomed the pilot’s pod for 10,000,000 ISK. A good start, I’m sure you’ll agree. Content with my work so far I hopped into a destroyer and cleaned up the mess that the mission had left behind before retiring to a bar for dinner and a couple of beers. There was a game on that I wanted to watch.

After the match (my team won) I made my way back down to the hangar. I’d enjoyed flying the Claw so I decided to take her out again. A report came through of an outlaw Drake in Costolle. I leapt into warp and raced up the pipe to see if I could find him and make the tackle. Unfortunately he was gone without a trace but in Melmaniel I saw a Rupture on scan that I couldn’t track down with my onboard systems. While I waited for a prober to arrive I scanned around the system and began to see a Thorax, Breacher, and Merlin on scan. My instincts kicked in and I began to narrow them down. A couple of times I just missed the Breacher before I eventually managed to land in a belt with all three of them.

The Merlin engaged first and I quickly locked it and returned fire. The Breacher and Thorax also locked me and began to fire. A quick look showed that the Thorax was using medium Hammerhead I drones and I was happy they would pose no threat to my interceptor. The Merlin had me webbed and my priority became to remove the irritation from the field. I overloaded my guns and closed in as quickly as I could. My shields were gone and my armour was starting to take a hammering. I fired up my repair systems while the Merlin was despatched. The next threat to remove was the Breacher. I was already on top of him and it was the work of moments to lock and destroy the fragile frigate. By now I’d called for support as the presence of the cruiser had alarmed me but with the frigates gone I was able to settle into a tight orbit and chip away at his defences. I popped a couple of his drones for good measure before focussing my efforts on the cruiser. As he reached half armour support arrived in the form of Robert Mason in an Incursus and Avan Sercedos’ Rupture. The last remaining defences of the Thorax crumbled and I quickly locked and scrambled his pod. My ransom demands were refused and I sent him home via clone vat express. As I docked up I saw the Merlin pilot undocking in an Ibis. He was still flagged to me so I engaged and destroyed the rookie ship and his pod.

Feeling good that I’d closed the gap on Toady and Castor I sat in station to wait out my criminal timer for destroying the pod. Suddenly corporate communications lit up with reports of a Myrmidon in Hevrice. Forgetting about my timer I undocked and set out full speed for home. In Hevrice probes were deployed and we waited for a hit. As our scouts narrowed down the target we began to get ready only to be told that just before the final scan resolved the target had gone. The system was empty. Or so we thought.

An expected beacon appeared on our overviews. Someone had lit a cynosaural beacon outside our station. An Archon class carrier appeared on scan accompanied by a Vagabond, Eagle, and Taranis. It looked like we had new neighbours. A couple of scouting flybys revealed that they were not outlaws and that the beacon had been lit 30 km from the station. The heavy assault cruisers and interceptor were warping too and from the station at various ranges, obviously covering the carrier. I eventually warped my Claw to the station and hovered just long enough for the Taranis to engage me before docking. He was now flagged as an aggressor and I could engage him on my own terms without the station guns getting involved. While I was negotiating my way through the docking lanes I noticed the local comms channel flashing:

[22:46:55] Goreth Ra’ak > for you bunch of -.10s you guys never fight 😦

I parked up the Claw and hopped into one of my trusty Rifters. I hadn’t had the chance to engage a Taranis for a good while now and with my new skills, greater experience, and the changes to warp scramblers I was sure that I could beat him. I undocked to find that the Taranis had moved well away from the station. I engaged my afterburner and told my navigation computer to settle into a 7,500 m orbit around the target. The Taranis sped towards me. It seemed he was keen to engage too. The Eagle was about 60 km away and there was no sign of the Vagabond. All systems go!

The Gallente interceptor locked me and I locked back. His web slowed my ship and he closed in tight, his blasters hitting me hard. My own web and scrambler took effect and shut down his microwarp drive. All of the sudden the balance of power had switched. I now had the power to dictate range and before I took much damage I was able to glide out into my planned orbit. His blasters were unable to hit me here and my shields began to recharge while my autocannons spat Barrage into his shields, armour, and eventually hull. He was able to repair chunks of his armour while I slowly ate into the Taranis’ massive structure. Keen to finish this I told my ship to approach and then really began to eat into him. Before he’d even broken through my shields his ship exploded and I punched the warp command. The Vagabond had undocked and it was time to get out. Even as my warp engines began to power up I bookmarked the location of his wreck. The powerful warp drive engaged and I shot away from the battlefield just as the Vagabond’s targeting computers resolved the lock. At my safe spot I turned around and warped back to the wreck. I landed a small distance away and burnt to what remained of the once proud ship. As I transferred the loot to my cargo the Vagabond opened fire and I quickly ducked into the safety of the station.

[22:49:18] DeimonX > POP! 🙂
[22:49:22] Wensley > gf
[22:49:28] Kyrie Asada > lol
[22:49:29] DeimonX > gf

Yet another interceptor kill under the eyes of the enemy. This is becoming a habit, and a good one at that. As our numbers rose we undocked heavier ships and began to chase around the Vagabond, Eagle, and a Sentinel that had undocked. After I’d eventually retreated wearily to my bunk it seems that we were able to pick off the Eagle.

When will people learn that we engage on our own terms. We don’t respond to smack. While you’re smacking us we’re forming a plan to pick off your ships one at a time. We are pirates. We won’t fight you for honour or to defend our system. We don’t need to defend it. It isn’t ours. If you try and set up shop here we will just use small ships and go hunt in other space. Many before have tried to kick us out of Hevrice. All have failed and all have left to go find fights elsewhere. We are The Tuskers. We strike silently and then fade back into the night. You have been warned.

Oh, and Toady and Castor… I’m catching up!

Week 14 Kills Week 14 Point

4 Responses to “Keeping Up With The Jonses”

  1. Fantastic! Popping the interceptor in front of his mates!
    What was the match by the way? Was it England v Ukraine?

    • Yeah it was. A poor performance for a lot of it but a reasonably comfortable win.

      • You’ll be playing our team in the next qualifier match, here in Kazakhstan. That’s going to be fun. We lost to Belarus 1-5 yesterday.

        • I saw that. Oh well, at least you weren’t San Marino playing away in Poland. They lost 10-0. I guess we’ll see you in June 🙂


Leave a Reply

