What’s In A Name?

27Feb09

Something that I’ve always struggled with in Eve was coming up with names for my ships. I’ve tried coming up with themes and using those but none of them have felt quite right. In the end I just settled on calling all my Rifters Rifter, all my Ruptures Rupture, etc. Its functional but it doesn’t quite feel right. The most exciting name I have in my hangar is Rifter Fleet Issue

I envy the pilots of New Eden who come up with good names for their ships. Kane names his after novels from the Discworld series amongst other things, Hallan’s are named for the Hellcats’ love of poker, and I love the names of Kirith’s battleships.

Damn it, I want a better naming theme.

The good news is that I think I might have found one. Somewhere along the line I have picked up the nickname The Dread Pirate Wensley. For those who don’t know this is a reference to the book and film The Princess Bride. In the story the beautiful Buttercup and the farm hand Westley. Westley is captured by the Dread Pirate Roberts and, long story short, eventually assumes the title and role of the Dread Pirate hence Dread Pirate Westley… Dread Pirate Wensley.

What’s this got to do with ship names? Well, I now have my theme. If you see a ship on scan with a name that makes you think of the Princess Bride then check local, you’ll probably find me there scanning you down.

Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.

Image from xkcd.com

7 Responses to “What’s In A Name?”

  1. 1 capt thryss

    I’ve stopped naming my ships after Tuskers as of late and have settled on naming my thrashers “ice cream truck” as wts flock to it like kids wanting an ice cream treat and me being eager to serve. But for the most part I like to keep changing my ship names so I’m not predictable like so many players are with their fits and ship names. Does anyone else use “notes” to keep track of this too??

  2. I work on the theory that if you see me in local and you see a Rifter on scan its not going to take long to put two and two together. I do like Ice Cream Truck, that’s brilliant.

  3. 3 Ronan Jacques

    haha, nice set of posts wens!
    I like to keep some random variety in my ship names, although I keep coming back to the same ones for my favorites. Always with a little story/meaning too, like my Stabber Ixwa (stabbing spear invented by Shaka Zulu) or the VootKroozah Vexors (the Voot Cruiser ship from the Invader Zim series by Jhonen Vasquez …and WH40k Space Ork Kill Krooza I guess hehe).
    Like Wens sorta suggests, I also rely more on matching people in local with ship types than ship names, altho if the name rings a bell it’s extra confirmation.

  4. 4 Eler

    In case you didn´t know:
    “Hello. My name is Iñigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die”
    You can type “ñ” with alt+164 😉
    Fly safe!

  5. 6 Bel Amar

    I already fly a Vengeance called Inigo Montoya. A Vengeance. See what I did there?

  6. 7 Cyber

    I need to get me a naming theme for my ships…right now I tend to look around my office and find words or names from stuff, edit them a bit, and throw them together. My favorite one so far is Mercer Exemplar (my Punisher)…but I’m running out of stuff that sounds good…

    Glad to see you found something to work with though 😀


Leave a Reply

